If your bill has just jumped at the end of a contract, or in April’s annual rise, you need a benchmark. This guide gives you one: what broadband and a landline cost new customers in November 2026, a shortlist of named deals with every scheduled price rise, and a quick way to work out which is cheapest over the whole contract.

Prices were checked on 31 October and 1 November 2026 at a sample UK address, with Virgin Media’s taken where its network reaches. Yours will depend on your postcode, rewards have end dates and prices change, so check again on the day you buy.
How much broadband and a landline should cost
The short answer: in November 2026, a new-customer broadband and landline deal cost between about £23.50 and £38 a month, before any calls package. Vodafone’s own site lists broadband and landline from £23.50, and the comparison-table deals ran from £24 (Sky Full Fibre 150) to £38 (Sky’s 1.6Gbps full fibre). If you want unlimited anytime calls, expect to pay more: Sky’s Anytime Extra add-on alone costs £18 a month.
Price bands by package type
Broadband and landline prices, November 2026
| Package type | Typical monthly price | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Broadband with landline, calls paid by the minute | £23.50 to £38 | Vodafone broadband and landline from £23.50; Sky Gigafast £29; BT Fibre 300 & phone £31.99; Sky 1.6Gbps £38 |
| Broadband with landline and weekend calls | £26.99 to £32.99 | Virgin Media M125 £26.99, M350 £28.99, M500 £30.99, Gig1 £32.99 |
| Broadband with landline and evening and weekend calls | from £33 | Sky Full Fibre 150 £24 plus Sky Talk Evenings and Weekends Extra £9 |
| Broadband with landline and anytime calls | from £42 | Sky Full Fibre 150 £24 plus Sky Talk Anytime Extra £18 |
| Social tariff, if you claim certain benefits | £10 to £24 | Office of Communications (Ofcom) social tariff list |
The bands are wide because two things drive the price: the speed you choose and whether calls are included. A 132Mbps line with weekend calls and a 1,627Mbps line with no calls both count as “broadband and phone”.
Many of these packages include line rental rather than charging it separately. Sky, for example, says all its broadband services include landline rental and pay-as-you-talk calls as standard. Calls you make without a package are charged by the minute: 15.5p a minute for UK calls on Sky and 20p a minute on BT.
New-customer prices vs out-of-contract prices
Everything in the table above is a new-customer price on a 24-month contract. When that contract ends, you move onto the provider’s standard price, which is usually higher than any deal on offer. Ofcom’s latest figures put the gap at £7 to £9 a month: that’s how much less in-contract customers spend than the 28% of broadband customers who are out of contract.
EE caps its own rise at £5 a month once a contract ends. If your current bill is well above the top of the £23.50 to £38 band and you don’t have an inclusive calls package, you are probably paying a loyalty penalty and should compare deals now.
There is also a gap inside the contract. BT and Virgin Media raise these prices by a fixed £4 a month every spring, so a deal that starts at £32.99 is £40.99 by its final months. Sky’s prices are variable mid-contract, so its rise isn’t known in advance.
Sky hasn’t published a figure. Under Ofcom rules, if a provider raises a price by an amount the contract doesn’t set out, it must give you at least 30 days’ notice and then 30 days to leave without an exit fee.
Broadband and phone deals worth comparing this month
Shortlist table: provider, package, speed, monthly price, contract, scheduled rises
These are named broadband and phone deals from MoneySavingExpert’s November 2026 deal tables and Vodafone’s own page, at a sample address. Virgin Media’s prices apply only where its cable network reaches, which isn’t every postcode. All are 24-month contracts. Each total assumes a contract starting in November 2026, five months at the starting price, twelve at the first rise and seven at the second.
Broadband and phone deals, November 2026
| Provider | Package | Average speed | Monthly price | Contract | Scheduled price rises | 24-month total | Reward |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vodafone | Broadband and landline | not stated by Vodafone | from £23.50 | 24 months | +£3.50 to £27 (1 Apr 2027), +£3.50 to £30.50 (1 Apr 2028) | £655 | not stated |
| Sky | Full Fibre Gigafast | 900Mbps | £29 | 24 months | variable, “prices may change during contract” | £696 before rises | £120 |
| Virgin Media | M125 broadband + phone | 132Mbps | £26.99 | 24 months | +£4 to £30.99 (1 Apr 2027), +£4 to £34.99 (1 Apr 2028) | £751.76 | none |
| Virgin Media | M350 broadband + phone | 362Mbps | £28.99 | 24 months | +£4 to £32.99 (1 Apr 2027), +£4 to £36.99 (1 Apr 2028) | £799.76 | none |
| Virgin Media | M500 broadband + phone | 516Mbps | £30.99 | 24 months | +£4 to £34.99 (1 Apr 2027), +£4 to £38.99 (1 Apr 2028) | £847.76 | none |
| BT | Fibre 300 & phone | 300Mbps | £31.99 | 24 months | +£4 to £35.99 (31 Mar 2027), +£4 to £39.99 (31 Mar 2028) | £871.76 | £120, ends 12 Nov |
| BT | Fibre 500 & phone | 500Mbps | £32.99 | 24 months | +£4 to £36.99 (31 Mar 2027), +£4 to £40.99 (31 Mar 2028) | £895.76 | £135, ends 12 Nov |
| Virgin Media | Gig1 broadband + home phone | 1,130Mbps | £32.99 | 24 months | +£4 to £36.99 (1 Apr 2027), +£4 to £40.99 (1 Apr 2028) | £895.76 | none |
| BT | Fibre 900 & phone | 900Mbps | £33.99 | 24 months | +£4 to £37.99 (31 Mar 2027), +£4 to £41.99 (31 Mar 2028) | £919.76 | £110, ends 12 Nov |
| Sky | Full Fibre 1.6Gbps | 1,627Mbps | £38 | 24 months | variable | £912 before rises | £100, ends 5 Nov |
Sky Broadband

Highly rated service Great Hardware
✅ Packages offering speeds up to 900 Mbps.
✅ Low latency for competitive gaming
✅ Great customer support with quick response rates.
Community Fibre, which covers London only, lists “150Mbps Fibre Broadband and Unlimited Calls” at £27 a month, rising to £30 and then £33, for £726 over 24 months. Despite the name, that listing includes no calls. Community Fibre’s own site prices it differently: 150Mbps broadband is £19 a month (£22 from April 2027, £25 from April 2028), and unlimited UK calls are an optional £12 a month extra carried over your broadband, so £31 a month with calls.
Those calls won’t work in a power cut or broadband failure. Check Community Fibre’s own price before you sign.
TalkTalk isn’t on the shortlist. BT Group bought TalkTalk out of administration on 5 October 2026 for £400m, protecting about 2.5 million customers. TalkTalk’s own site now splits its range: Full Fibre is broadband only, with no phone line, while its part-fibre broadband includes a landline with Unlimited UK Calls, UK Evening and Weekend Calls or International Max Calls packages.
At our sample address the comparison tables listed only its Full Fibre broadband, from £25 a month for 150Mbps, and no TalkTalk deals with a landline.
Searching for “BT broadband and phone deals”? The three BT rows above are BT’s November 2026 broadband and phone offers on that list, and all three come with a reward that ends on 12 November.
Judging a deal on total contract cost
The best deal is the one with the lowest 24-month total, after rewards, at a speed you need. The cheapest headline price often isn’t it.
Take two deals from the table. Virgin Media M125 broadband and phone starts at £26.99, £5 a month less than BT Fibre 300 & phone at £31.99. Over 24 months Virgin Media costs £751.76 and BT costs £871.76. Claim BT’s £120 reward and BT’s total falls to £751.76, exactly level, with more than twice the speed (300Mbps against 132Mbps).
Virgin Media includes weekend calls, though, while BT charges 20p a minute. So the right choice depends on how you use the phone, not the headline price.
Virgin Media Broadband

Great Speed and Reliability
✅ You crave speed and reliability for streaming/gaming.
✅ Bundling TV/mobile saves you money (especially with Volt).
✅ Future-proofing matters (Gig1/Gig2).
Sky’s figures need a warning. Sky Gigafast’s “equivalent monthly cost” is £24, which is £29 less the £120 reward spread over the contract. But Sky’s prices can change mid-contract, so expect to pay a few pounds a month more than that. Budget for a rise.
To judge any deal yourself:
- Add up the monthly prices for all 24 months, including each scheduled rise.
- Add any set-up or delivery charge.
- Subtract the reward only if you will claim it before it ends.
- Compare deals at a similar speed.
What pushes the price up
Inclusive calls packages
The phone line itself is often cheap or built in. The calls are where the cost adds up. On the deals above:
- BT includes no calls on these deals and charges 20p a minute. BT says broadband customers pay “just the price of a call plan”, on a 30-day term, but doesn’t show that price on its site. Ask for it before you add one. Its phone-only line, with no broadband, costs £31.20 a month on pay as you go or £49.20 with Unlimited Minutes. At our sample address, BT’s phone line added exactly £5 a month: Fibre 900 cost £28.99 without it and £33.99 with it.
- Sky includes no calls but sells Sky Talk add-ons, priced from 1 April 2026: Evenings and Weekends Extra £9 a month, Anytime Extra £18 and International Extra £18. Without one, UK calls cost 15.5p a minute.
- Virgin Media includes weekend calls on all four of its broadband and phone deals listed above.
- Vodafone lets you choose a plan with or without a landline. Its call package prices aren’t shown on its broadband pages, so check them when you order.
- EE sells a Digital Home Phone that runs over EE broadband, with no line rental: you pay only for the call pack you choose. EE’s Digital Home Phone packs cost up to £5.73 a month (Pay Per Call), £9.18 (700 Minutes), £20.66 (Unlimited Minutes) or £25.24 (Unlimited Minutes & International), on a 30-day rolling basis (EE price guide, prices from 31 March 2026; some customers pay less).
BT Broadband

Fast Reliable Nationwide Broadband
✅ Guaranteed minimum speeds up to 900 Mbps.
✅ Highly rated BT Smart Hub routers
✅ Great customer support with quick response rates.
If you are looking for unlimited phone calls and broadband packages, the one price we could confirm is Sky’s: Gigafast at £29 plus Anytime Extra at £18, so £47 a month before any rise. Work out how many minutes you actually use. At 20p a minute, £18 buys 90 minutes of BT’s pay-as-you-go calls, so a light user may be better off without a package.
Faster speeds and full fibre
Speed is the other big driver. On Virgin Media’s range, each step up costs £2 a month at the start: £26.99 for 132Mbps, £28.99 for 362Mbps, £30.99 for 516Mbps and £32.99 for 1,130Mbps. On BT, moving from Fibre 300 (£31.99) to Fibre 900 (£33.99) costs £2 a month more.
Full fibre has made fast speeds cheaper. At the sample address, Sky’s 900Mbps full fibre (£29) was cheaper than every BT phone deal on the list; only Virgin Media’s slower M125 and M350 deals undercut it, and only where Virgin’s network reaches. Whether you can get it depends on your postcode: full fibre and Virgin Media’s cable network don’t reach every street, so check availability before you shortlist.
Don’t pay for speed you won’t use. A couple browsing and streaming on one screen needs far less than a busy household. Our guide to broadband bundles explained sets out what each bundle type includes, and our guide to broadband only or a bundle helps if you are not sure you need the phone line at all.
Ways to pay less for broadband and a phone line
Haggling at renewal and switching
When your contract is ending, your current provider has a reason to keep you. Before you call:
- write down two or three deals from the table above at the same speed, with their 24-month totals
- check what’s available at your postcode, so you know which offers are real for you
- ask your provider to match the best of them, and get the new price and every scheduled rise in writing
If they won’t match, switch. For most broadband switches you only contact the new provider, which arranges the move. Check whether you’d pay an early termination fee if you are still in contract. Under Ofcom’s rules, contracts usually run 12, 18 or 24 months, and leaving early can mean an exit fee, also called an early termination charge.
Your provider must tell you 10 to 40 days before the end what you’ll pay afterwards and its best deals, and eligible customers can move to a social tariff without a penalty even mid-contract.
You don’t have to keep a landline to keep broadband, either. Plusnet now sells broadband only, and Vodafone offers plans without a landline. If you only want a phone for occasional calls, see the providers that still offer landlines and what happens to your number when you drop it.
Remember the digital switchover too. Ofcom says “BT plans to retire its old landline network by 31 January 2027.” A digital landline needs mains power and won’t work in a power cut without a battery back-up. If you depend on your landline and have no working mobile or signal, your provider must offer a free back-up lasting at least one hour.
Tell your provider in advance if you use a telecare or care alarm.
Social tariffs if you claim certain benefits
If you claim certain benefits, a social tariff is usually the cheapest way to get broadband. Ofcom says “current prices range from £10 to £24” a month. Universal Credit qualifies, and at all major providers so do Pension Credit, Employment and Support Allowance, Jobseeker’s Allowance and Income Support. Some providers also accept Personal Independence Payment and Attendance Allowance.
For landline and broadband deals for pensioners, start here: Pension Credit qualifies at every major provider. BT and KCOM also offer cheaper voice-only landline tariffs for people who mainly want a phone. Ask your current provider whether you qualify before you compare anything else, because a social tariff can cost less than any deal in the shortlist above.
The deals you can order depend on your postcode. Check yours, then judge each one on its 24-month total.
Compare deals in your area




